Members Login
 

The WHO Early Release Guideline on ARV and PrEP

were published on September

30th, 2015 and can be

found here:

 Guideline on When to Start Antiretroviral Therapy and on Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis for HIV

JIAS Special Issue: PrEP Implementation Science: State-of-the-Art and Research Agenda, organized by NEMUS (published July 2015).

 Please visit Nemus´Youtube channell

 

Follow us in Facebook

 

and Twiter

NEMUS Activities

NEMUS Webinar Series # 32:"Highlights of the New WHO implementation Tool for HIV PrEP, Session 2: A Focus on Communities" Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Dear colleague:

 

After publishing, in September 2015, its recommendation that “oral pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) should be offered as an additional prevention choice for people at substantial risk of HIV infection as part of combination HIV prevention approaches”, WHO focused on the development of a series of modules to support the implementation of PrEP among a range of populations in different settings. The series is accessible here:

 

http://www.who.int/hiv/pub/prep/prep-implementation-tool/en/

 

To help in the dissemination of this useful tool, NEMUS is collaborating with WHO and PAHO in the presentation of three sessions in English (and three analogous sessions in Spanish) where the content relevant for (1) Providers; (2) Communities; and (3) Program​me​s​,​ will be presented. 

Session 1 took place in October. If you did not have a chance to participate, we suggest that you watch the webcasts, before attending session 2.

To watch the ​webcast​ of
"Session 1: A Focus on Providers​"

please find the English ​version ​here​:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClS1nZiNAHQ

and the Spanish ​version h​ere​:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CKuoa-BgxI


"Sesión 2: ​Focus on Communities"

Scheduled on 29 November [English]
and 30 November [Spanish]

This session will introduce the WHO implementation tool to the community, and summarize the most relevant information for community leaders, community educators, peer providers and potential PrEP users.
LSpeakers will be Javier Hourcade (Quiero PrEP),Pedro Carneiro (Callen Lorde CHC) and Maureen Milambe ​(Centre for the Development of People) in the English-language session, and Javier Hourcade (Quiero PrEP), and Simón Cazal (Somos Gay-Paraguay) in the Spanish language session.

 

Javier Hourcade

Javier Hourcade Bellocq is a Social Communicator and journalist who has been working for 30 years in the HIV / AIDS response, particularly in Latin America and the Caribbean. He is the Chair of the Board of Directors of the Global Network of People with HIV; and is a member of the LAC Delegation to the Global Fund to fight AIDS, TB and Malaria. He is Member of the PAHO and WHO Technical Advisory Committees for HIV, STIs and Hepatitis. Currently he is the editor of the Key Correspondents team and Coordinator of Quiero PrEP.

Pedro Carneiro

Pedro Carneiro. is the Director of Population Health at Callen-Lorde Community Health Center in New York City. In his role, Pedro oversees quality assurance and improvement projects, maintaining registries and improving workflows. Pedro’s work in PrEP Implementation has been recognized internationally, in 2016 he was awarded the Joep and Jacqueline Van Togeren Young Investigator Award by the International AIDS Society. Pedro is a trained Epidemiologist and focuses in LGBTQ healthcare disparities.

 

maureen luba

Maureen Milambe. is the project coordinator of a joint advocacy project between the Centre for the Development of People and Malawi Network of People Living with HIV that aims to improve the engagement of people living with HIV and key populations in the Global Fund and PEPFAR processes in Malawi. She has eight years of experience in projects promoting sexual and reproductive health and rights and addressing sociobehavioral, economic and health systems aspects across a continuum of HIV/AIDS services. A leading advocate for HIV prevention research in Malawi, Maureen is a core member of the Africa HIV Prevention Network and a member of the global Vaccine Advocacy Resources Group. As a 2015 AVAC advocacy fellow, she focused on increasing investment in and access to biomedical prevention methods such as PrEP and microbicides for young women and girls in Malawi. Maureen is also a community mentor to adolescent girls to ensure they stay in school and keep healthy. She was named a Global Change Leader by the Coady International Institute in 2015 and received the Omololu Falobi Award from AVAC in 2016 in recognition of her contributions to HIV prevention research community advocacy. Maureen earned a bachelor’s degree in public administration from the University of Malawi, Chancellor College.

Simon

Simón Cazal. is a gay activist from Paraguay. He is the Co-Founder and Executive Director of SOMOSGAY, the largest LGBT organization in the country and one of the strongest groups in Latin America. With over ten years of accumulated experience as a community-based group, Simón is also the Secretary of GayLatino, the main advocacy network led by Latino gay men from all around the world. Currently based in Asunción, Simón is also a cat lover and a huge fan of comic books.

This session will take place on Wednesday 29th November 2017 at 7am (Los Angeles), 9am (Mexico City), 10am (Lima, New York, Panama), 12pm (Santiago, Buenos Aires); 1pm (Brasilia), 3pm (London), ​5pm (Malawi) 8.30pm (Delhi); 10pm (Bangkok),To check the time in your specific time zone, please visit:

 

http://www.worldtimeserver.com/meeting-planner.aspx

 

To register for the webinar please click on the following link:

https://goo.gl/forms/i8NKEt8zlQRHdPUc2


To access the webinar ​at the indicated ​date/​time​, please​ click on the following link:

https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/575057269


Looking forward to your participation.

 

 

 

Share this

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
Read 62 times Last modified on Tuesday, 21 November 2017 20:59

Media