Members Login
 

The WHO Early Release Guideline on ARV and PrEP

were published on September

30th, 2015 and can be

found here:

 Guideline on When to Start Antiretroviral Therapy and on Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis for HIV

JIAS Special Issue: PrEP Implementation Science: State-of-the-Art and Research Agenda, organized by NEMUS (published July 2015).

 Please visit Nemus´Youtube channell

 

Follow us in Facebook

 

and Twiter

NEMUS Activities

NEMUS Webinar Series # 31:"Highlights of the New WHO implementation Tool for HIV PrEP, Session 1: A Focus on Providers" Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Dear colleague:

 

After publishing, in September 2015, its recommendation that “oral pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) should be offered as an additional prevention choice for people at substantial risk of HIV infection as part of combination HIV prevention approaches”, WHO focused on the development of a series of modules to support the implementation of PrEP among a range of populations in different settings. The series is accessible here:

http://www.who.int/hiv/pub/prep/prep-implementation-tool/en/

To help in the dissemination of this useful tool, NEMUS is collaborating with WHO and PAHO in the presentation of three sessions in English (and three analogous sessions in Spanish) where the content relevant for (1) Providers; (2) Communities; and (3) Program​me​s​,​ will be presented.

"Session 1: A Focus on Providers"

 (NOTE: the same presentation will be offered in Spanish on Thursday 26 October)

This session will  introduce the WHO implementation tool to health providers, and summarize the most relevant information for providers (physicians, nurses, counselors, pharmacy and laboratory personnel) involved in delivery of PrEP in the context of combination prevention of HIV.

Speakers will be  Maeve de Mello (PAHO)   and   Ioannis Mameletzis (WHO)  in the English-language session, and  Giovanni Ravasi (PAHO)  and  Carmen Figueroa   (WHO)  in the Spanish language session. 

Maeve

Maeve De Mello, BSc, PhD Maeve began her career in public health in 1998, and has worked for international NGOs (Population Council, Pact International), governmental public health agencies (CDC and Fiocruz in Brazil), as well as for UNAIDS and PAHO. Maeve’s work experience are concentrated in HIV prevention for key populations (gay men and other MSM, transgender women, sex workers, and people who use drugs) in Latin America (particularly in Brazil and its border areas with Paraguay, Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, Colombia and Peru) and in Lusophone Africa (Angola and Mozambique), as well as with PMTCT at Regional level.

​She was the CDC’s Deputy Director for Programs in Brazil​; she has also been responsible for the first integrated behavioral and biological surveillance survey of HIV and syphilis with MSM and transgender women in Brazil; and ​for the ​large scale monitoring and evaluation of interventions and programs involving STI and HIV prevention, sexual and reproductive health, gender-based violence, and adolescent sexual education, all within the framework of human, and of sexual and reproductive rights. In 2015 Maeve joined PAHO to support the validation of elimination of mother-to-child transmission (EMTCT) of HIV and syphilis in the Americas, and in July 2017, she was appointed as the Regional Advisor for Prevention of HIV and STI.

Ioannis

Dr. Ioannis (Yannis) Hodges-Mameletzis, WHO. He is an HIV molecular epidemiologist and biologist by training, based in Geneva, Switzerland. He is currently consulting on PrEP at WHO Headquarters and is involved in supporting countries around the technical and programmatic issues around PrEP implementation. He has been extensively involved in the development of evidence-based recommendations for HIV and viral hepatitis at WHO.


Giovanni Ravasi

Giovanni Ravasi. is a Medical Doctor, specialized in Infectious Diseases from the Universitá degli Studi of Pavia, Italy, and holds a Master Degree in Public Health from the London School of Hygiene in Tropical Medicine, London, UK. Since 2008 works as Regional Adviser on HIV for the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), Regional office of the World Health Organization (WHO), based in Brasilia, Brazil, until 2013, and since 2014 in the Regional Headquarter in Washington DC, USA. His main areas of work are HIV drug resistance surveillance, prevention and control, technical cooperation for HIV care and treatment public health policy development, implementation and monitoring and evaluation.

Carmen Figueroa

Carmen Figueroa, MD MPH FPM. graduated as a Public Health specialist from the Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Madrid, Spain, and in 2011 she graduated as a Master of Public Health from the University of Alcala (Spain). Her field of expertise includes HIV/AIDS prevention, health systems decision-making, health policy development, key populations, monitoring and evaluation and health information systems. She has also been involved in supporting countries around technical and programmatic issues on HIVST implementation and HIV testing strategies. Since 2015 she has been working as a consultant for the HIV Department at the World Health Organization.

This session will take place on Tuesday 24th October 2017 at 7am (Los Angeles), 9am (Lima, Mexico City, Panama City), 10am (New York), 11am (Santiago, Buenos Aires); 12pm (Brasilia), 3pm (London), 7.30pm (Delhi); 9pm (Bangkok), To check the time in your specific time zone, please visit:

 

To access the webinar ​at the indicated ​date/​time​, please​ click on the following link:

http://www.worldtimeserver.com/meeting-planner.aspx

To register for the webinar please click on the following link:

 

https://goo.gl/forms/SofCXk4OVXahX5I13

 

To access the webinar ​at the indicated ​date/​time​, please​ click on the following link:

https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/575057269

 

Share this

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
Read 125 times Last modified on Thursday, 19 October 2017 22:02

Media