Members Login
 

The WHO Early Release Guideline on ARV and PrEP

were published on September

30th, 2015 and can be

found here:

 Guideline on When to Start Antiretroviral Therapy and on Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis for HIV

JIAS Special Issue: PrEP Implementation Science: State-of-the-Art and Research Agenda, organized by NEMUS (published July 2015).

 Please visit Nemus´Youtube channell

 

Follow us in Facebook

 

and Twiter

NEMUS Activities 2016

NEMUS Webinar Series # 28:"The PrEP Task Force in Latin America and the Caribbean: A model of technical support for evidence-based HIV PrEP Implementation" Featured

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Dear colleague:

 

After the completion of important studies providing evidence of the efficacy of PrEP for HIV prevention in various populations, translated into technical recommendations for use by people at increased risk in the context of combination HIV prevention, released by WHO, it is necessary to focus increasingly on tasks that will support countries in assessing the potential role of PrEP in their HIV prevention responses, based on evidence, and eventually help in the roll-out of PrEP as one option for HIV prevention to be used by those who need and want it.

One of those initiatives is the PrEP Task Force in Latin America and the Caribbean, which emerged as a joint initiative of the PAHO HIV Program (through Dr. Giovanni Ravasi) and NEMUS (through Dr. Carlos Cáceres).

At this time, we are pleased to announce the next NEMUS Global Webinar to be focused on:

The PrEP Task Force in Latin America and the Caribbean: A model of technical support for evidence-based HIV PrEP Implementation

 

Giovanni Ravasi

Giovanni Ravasi. is a Medical Doctor, specialized in Infectious Diseases from the Universitá degli Studi of Pavia, Italy, and holds a Master Degree in Public Health from the London School of Hygiene in Tropical Medicine, London, UK. Since 2008 works as Regional Adviser on HIV for the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), Regional office of the World Health Organization (WHO), based in Brasilia, Brazil, until 2013, and since 2014 in the Regional Headquarter in Washington DC, USA. His main areas of work are HIV drug resistance surveillance, prevention and control, technical cooperation for HIV care and treatment public health policy development, implementation and monitoring and evaluation.

 

Ioannis

Dr. Ioannis (Yannis) Hodges-Mameletzis, WHO. He is an HIV molecular epidemiologist and biologist by training, based in Geneva, Switzerland. He is currently consulting on PrEP at WHO Headquarters and is involved in supporting countries around the technical and programmatic issues around PrEP implementation. He has been extensively involved in the development of evidence-based recommendations for HIV and viral hepatitis at WHO.

 

 

carlosfcaceresp 200

Carlos Cáceres, MD, MPH, PhD. is a Professor of Public Health, and Director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in HIV, AIDS and Society at Cayetano Heredia University (UPCH) in Lima. He is also the Director of the Institute of Studies in Health, Sexuality and Human Development. He obtained his MD degree (1988) from UPCH, and his MPH (1991) and PhD (1996) degrees from UC Berkeley. Throughout the last 20 years he has led numerous studies on HIV/AIDS and sexual health with populations of MSM, transgender women and people living with HIV. He has also conducted extensive research on health policy and systems, focusing on the Global Fund (GFATM) and the National Response to HIV. Apart from his research experience, he has served as a consultant to various UN bodies for diverse planning, research, and training activities. He coordinates the Network for Multidisciplinary studies in ARV-Based HIV Prevention (NEMUS). He was the founder and Past President of the International Association for the Study of Sexuality, Culture and Society, and was a member of the IAS Governing Council (2010-14). In 2014 he was appointed to serve at the Technical Review Panel of the GFATM.

 

The webinar is scheduled to take place on Wednesday 22 March, 2017, at 7:00 am Los Angeles; 8:00 am Mexico; 9:00 Lima, Panama City; 10:00 New York; 11:00 am Brasilia; 2:00 pm London; 3:00 pm Geneva; 4:00 pm Johannesburg; 7.30 pm India, 9:00 pm Bangkok. To check the time in your specific time zone, please visit:

http://www.worldtimeserver.com/meeting-planner.aspx

To register for the webinar please click on the following link:

 

https://goo.gl/forms/lKPJGIuYRCkWxUv42

 

After you register you will receive a confirmation e-mail with instructions to access the webinar and background readings.Looking forward to your participation. 

 

Share this

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
Read 203 times Last modified on Wednesday, 22 March 2017 21:11

Media